Creativity Blocks

Round about December 2012 it happened to me. Suddenly I was dropped from the jet steam of creative muse.

Left with just my ordinary dull mind the world seemed to have lost its luster.  Things I never had time nor interest in filled the gap. I started listening to NPR, main stream media and TV.  Shrill, shocking news and events since I last surfed the main stream wave. Yet somehow nothing had really changed. A whirlwind of smoke and mirrors revealing nothing of importance to me but it filled in time.

I blame it on hormones, stars, sun and moon. Lack of vitamin D, E and C.

I remembered a bit of wisdom I picked up from somewhere. Show gratitude and or wonder in the most ordinary of things. It started to work. I looked at the world with fresh eyes. Even cityscapes of concrete, metal and decay held some treasure.

Glistening rain drops sparkling on a car hood.

The soft fur on my cats ears.

Pink buds emerging on bushes and trees.

Cracks and crevices of broken concrete creating patterns like beautiful mandala’s.

City parks showing their wonder.

Ever so slowly sparks and wisps of smoke from the eternal creative consciousness started to enter my awareness.

I don’t feel entirely back but enough energy came thru to inspire a video I call “New City”.

What do you think?

 

Leave a Reply

