Fire…

Fire!

Inexplicably I was suddenly overly concerned about fire.  I became concerned that my house was going to catch on fire or fire would adversely affect someone close to me.  I checked and double checked heaters and appliances.  Several times I started off for work only to return home and check them once again.  It was literally a hand wringing feeling.

What was going on?  Fire would drift into my thoughts at odd times.  I was just starting to take a walk with a friend and when suddenly very clearly I heard “Fire” as if someone was whispering in my ear.- clearaudience.

At this time in my life I was getting deeper and deeper into the study of metaphysics and was working with a gifted Shaman.  I decided to bring this up at one of our sessions.

“I keep thinking about fire and double checking my heaters and appliances”.  I said.

After establishing that I had no fire trauma in my present or known past we proceeded.

“Go into the feeling”.  The Shaman said.

As she said this I shut my eyes and a scene started to develop in my mind’s eye.  The feeling was fearful and agitating.  I saw a huge pile of wood ready to be lit.  It was night-time and people were surrounding and milling around the massive pile of wood.  There was anticipating of if being lit.  I knew someone was going to be  burned at the stake.  Then abruptly I know who… it was to be my mother.  I was overcome with grief.  A man dressed in ragged burlap textured clothes forced me to look at him.  He had piercing blue eyes full of power and dominance.  It was my Dad, he wanted to make sure I knew that he was behind this terrible event.

My Mom in that lifetime was the village herbalist / healer and held a lot of sway with the villagers.  The problem was her husband, my Dad didn’t like this.  He was jealous, controlling and found a way to put an end to it.

The fire was lit and the flickering light, fear and village people’s gruesome anticipating popped me back into the present moment.  I couldn’t bear to see or feel anything more.

I looked up.  The Shaman was still observing I could tell.  Her eyes were shut but her eyeballs were moving behind her eyelids. After a bit she too came back.

We sat in silence for a while.  I now knew where my concern of fire had come from.  As I had been working on myself, a deep old fear surfaced ready to be released.

“Good work”.  The Shaman said.

After that session I was no longer troubled by thoughts of fire…

Leave a Reply

