Animal Talk – On the Farm – Bigfoot

On the Farm

The finale, of the category “you just can’t make this stuff up” is the following true story.

Every so often, usually at dusk but not always we heard a scream coming from deep in the woods behind our house.  It was the kind of scream that would make the hairs on the back of your neck standup.  It sounded like a cross between a human and an animal.

We didn’t talk about it much.  What could you say about something you couldn’t identify and on top that it was scary, creepy and unnerving to hear?  We came to the conclusion that a Bigfoot lived deep in the woods and left it at that.

I told my friend Julie about it but she didn’t believe it – until the day she heard it. We were trail riding behind my house.  It was a beautiful afternoon and very peaceful riding in the woods.  The pleasant, rhythmic clop, clop of the horse’s hooves and birds singing made a wonderful musical backdrop.

Then we heard it, the animalistic human like scream. It was closer than I had ever heard before.  Both horses’ stopped dead in their tracks, their ears pointed and highly alert.  I noticed that the birds had stopped singing and it was eerily quiet. Julie turned around and looked at me, her eyes big with fear.

“What was that” she said.

“That’s that sound I was telling you about, it’s a Bigfoot”. I said confidently hiding my own fear.

The horse’s shifted nervously.  I was afraid Pride was going to bolt.

“What should we do, turn back”? Julie asked as she scanned the surrounding woods.

“Ok” I said.

We barely had to touch the reins to the horses’ necks and they were turned and quickly heading back.  It was obvious they didn’t want to hang around any longer than we did.

I never did know what made that sound.  Years later my sister said “Oh that was just a cougar”. Well I got on the internet and listened to cougar sounds.  It was most defiantly not a cougar…

Footnote:

However, after writing this I searched for Bigfoot sounds on the internet and came across a sound that sounds similar to what I remember hearing…

The link below has several sounds.  The sound most similar to what I heard is identified with the following description.

In 1973, there were several sightings in a gravel pit in Puyallup, WA. These sounds were recorded by Mr. Marlin Ayers. You can hear birdsong, and a train whistle in the background. Known as the Puyallup Screamer, this creature’s vocalizations terrorized the residents of the neighborhood

http://www.oregonbigfoot.com/sounds.php

Leave a Reply

